This retelling of classic stories by Nathaniel Hawthorne is a treasure your children will pore over and enjoy for years.

 Recommended in Program(s): Foundations, Challenge B
Cycle(s): Cycle 1


Frequently asked questions for Tanglewood Tales available here.

What families are saying:

"Why wait until Challenge B to read these stories? They are masterfully, beautifully retold by a master American author, Nathaniel Hawthorne." — Marc Hays
"I want to read them for Cycle 1 next year (with my nine-year-old). When we get to Challenge it will be like re-visiting an old friend." — Michaella
"My Challenge B student got this book this year and it became our first read aloud of the school year. It now resides in the car as one of the special books that gets read over and over and must be left in the car!" — Sara
“In a Challenge B class of vastly differing opinions and personalities, this was unanimously one of the favorite books of the year!” — Stephanie




Classical Conversations MultiMedia

Publication date:


Number of pages:








Nathaniel Hawthorne (1805-64) was an American novelist and short-story writer. He was born in Salem, Massachusetts, and graduated from Bowdoin College. His first novel, Fanshawe, was published anonymously in 1828, followed by several collections of short stories, including Twice-Told Tales and Mosses from an Old Manse. His later novels include The Scarlet Letter, The House of Seven Gables, The Blithedale Romance, and The Marble Faun.

Recently viewed items